Monday, December 5, 2022
Home Laptop Apple's March 2022 event: How to watch and what to expect

Apple’s March 2022 event: How to watch and what to expect

(Pocket-lint) – Apple has announced a spring event in March – where it’s expected to announce a new iPad Air, a new iPhone SE with support for 5G, and possibly a Mac computer or two. Here is everything you need to know about what is expected, including how to watch these rumoured products be unveiled yourself.

When is Apple’s March event?

Apple’s spring event is scheduled for 8 March 2022 at 10:00 PST.

Here are a few different local times from around the globe:

  • San Francisco: 10:00 PST
  • New York: 13:00 EST
  • London: 18:00 GMT
  • Berlin: 19:00 CET
  • New Delhi: 23:30 IST
  • Tokyo: 03:00 JST, 9 Mar
  • Sydney: 05:00 AEDT, 9 Mar
Apple

How to watch Apple’s March event

Apple will stream the event from the Steve Jobs Theater on the Apple Park campus in Cupertino, California, and we have embedded the livestream at the top of this page.

Although this is Apple’s first event of 2022, it will continue to be a digital-only affair with no members of the media invited to attend in person due to the ongoing pandemic. But you will be able to watch it from Apple’s event site and Apple’s YouTube channel.

What to expect from Apple’s March event

Apple is expected to announce the next-generation version of the iPhone SE with support for 5G, a revamped iPad Air tablet, and at least one Mac with an Apple silicon chip. The new Mac could either be the Mac mini or the 13-inch MacBook Pro or both. The only official clue we have is Apple’s invite, which teases we can expect “peek performance”.

Yes, you read that correctly: Peek, not peak.

Pocket-lint

iPhone SE 

The third-generation iPhone SE is expected to look similar to the second-generation model available now, with no design changes. It should feature thick bezels, a Touch ID Home button, an updated A-series chip (possibly the A15), and 5G connectivity. It’s thought to become Apple’s most affordable 5G iPhone and will be the first update to the SE since 2020.

Pocket-lint

iPad Air

The next-generation iPad Air will also go unchanged in the design department, but it will be treated with some upgraded internals including possibly a faster chip (likely the A15) and 5G connectivity. It could also get a new FaceTime camera that supports the Center Stage feature, allowing you to stay in the frame even as you move around a space.

Pocket-lint

Mac Mini

Apple has been rumoured to be developing a higher-end Mac Mini with a refreshed design and M1 Pro and M1 Max chips. It should replace the current Intel ‌Mac mini‌ options. 

The most recent reports have claimed we can expect a supercharged version of the Mac Mini. Called the Apple Mac Studio, it could fit in the company’s computer lineup between a new Mac Mini and the Mac Pro. It is said to be based on the smaller case styling of the Mini yet have greatly enhanced hardware, with 9to5Mac claiming that there are two models in development – one with an M1 Max chip, and one with a new Apple Silicon chip. That could possibly be the M2 tipped to be launched during the “Peek Performance” event.

Pocket-lint

Apple Studio Display

The supercharged Mac Mini also fits in with another rumoured product coming from Apple – what is being termed the Apple Studio Display. It’s a higher resolution professional-level monitor that could replace the Pro Display XDR. Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman believes the Mac Studio and a “new monitor running iOS” are “ready to go” for Apple’s event.

Pocket-lint

MacBook Pro

Finally, an updated version of the 13-inch MacBook Pro equipped with an M2 chip (the successor to the M1 chip) has also been rumoured for quite some time. It’ll look like the current 13-inch model; it’ll just be a lower-end version of the 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pro models running ‌M1 Pro‌ and ‌M1 Max‌ chips.

Is that it?

Nope. Word is we might also see new iMacs.

Pocket-lint will, of course, keep you posted as soon as Apple announces all its latest wares.

Get Malwarebytes Premium today to go beyond antivirus and stop worrying about online threats. Available on Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, and Chrome, Malwarebytes secures your devices, files, and privacy 24/7. Real-Time Protection uses AI and machine learning to keep you safe from online threats, even emerging threats that no one has ever seen before. Malwarebytes effortlessly crushes adware and potentially unwanted programs that slow down your devices. The all-in-one cyberprotection dashboard highlights your security status in real time, so you’re not kept in the dark on what’s going on with your devices. Start protecting your devices today with Malwarebytes.

Writing by Maggie Tillman.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Peterborough health unit warns a ‘bad batch’ of drugs is circulating in area

Peterborough Public Health issued another alert following an increase in suspected drug poisonings on the weekend. On Saturday, the health unit received reports that a...

Agencies and experts gather in Abu Dhabi to debate the future of space

The two-day conference is set to form an important new global forum for the space industry (Picture: Getty Images)As a growing number of nations launch space...

While EU regulators take on Elon Musk, Britain’s online safety bill is a beacon of mediocrity | Chris Stokel-Walker

While EU regulators take on Elon Musk, Britain’s online safety bill is a beacon of mediocrityChris Stokel-WalkerThe attempt to bring big tech to heel...

Monday’s top tech news: OpenAI’s chatbot doesn’t have all the answers… yet

Filed under:Also, we got some new trailers for Gen V, The Witcher: Blood Origin, and the upcoming The Last of Us series.By Verge...